This forum is created by people who follow the Wheat Belly Diet, as a place to communicate with each other about various topics. Please note that this site is a user created site, and not one of Dr. Davis' sites.

Author Topic: Hello!  (Read 1851 times)

MickiSue

• View Profile
Hello!
« on: May 28, 2014, 12:34:39 PM »
I'm MickiSue, from MN.

My background is in nursing, and I'm currently a wellness coach.

I found wheat (and grain, in general) free living by the back door. I was at a training for coaches, and a trainer was talking about a method she used that had had great success with her customers. She found their caloric and protein needs, then asked them to avoid "bread, pasta, rice and potatoes" for a week, to get the best chance of a good start at weight loss.

Having lost 20 lbs a long time ago, and then losing and regaining the same 5, for years, I decided that I should try it. Much to my surprise, I lost 8 in the first month. Being a nutrition geek, I decided to do research on WHY this was working, when sticking to around 1500 cals, getting enough protein and water, but eating grains, hadn't. I had, a few years ago, read Gary Taubes "Good Calories, Bad Calories," so was already familiar with the errors of the standard USDA "good" eating plan.

My first information came from Steven Komadina's Born to Be Healthy and Thin. That led me to Google Scholar, where I found a meta-analysis of an assortment of studies, based on the effects of the cultivation of grains on humans, called Cereal Grains: Humanity's Double Edged Sword.

Now, with Dr. Davis' Wheat Belly Cookbook and the new cookbook, I can find recipes that I can use to supplement what I've already been doing. As well, I hope, as weaning my husband off the grains.

Barbara from New Jersey

• View Profile
Re: Hello!
« Reply #1 on: May 28, 2014, 01:28:47 PM »
Welcome MickiSue,