This forum is created by people who follow the Wheat Belly Diet, as a place to communicate with each other about various topics. Please note that this site is a user created site, and not one of Dr. Davis' sites.

Author Topic: Attending a conference; this is why people are fat  (Read 3135 times)

Randal

• View Profile
Attending a conference; this is why people are fat
« on: June 17, 2014, 04:56:39 PM »
I'm attending a conference this week. I work in tech, so it's mostly men; middle-aged men primarily. Such a high proportion have the typical wheat belly. Way too many have that heart-attack zone paunch of 30-60 pounds of fat around the waist, hanging over the belt, and engulfing the internal organs.

Normally when I travel for work, I'm alone or with one other person, so I have much more control over what I eat. This time I'm with a team, and we have all these events to attend. Lunch is provided at the conference. It's not food so much as People Chow. Lots of bread, pasta, and carbs with sauces. I left and walked across the street to get a $15 salad.

Last night, we watched the soccer game (USA!) before heading to a ball game. Naturally we watched at a sports bar. Lots of beer and of course "apps." Remember the days before apps? Now, it's customary to load up on calorie-heavy completely-unhealthy food. I can't believe people eat sliders; what a ripoff. Reduce the amount of meat and add bigger buns. Don't get me started on nachos. Chicken wings are fine - unless you bread them and fry them. And of course lots of beer. I ate and drank nothing, until getting back to the hotel and buying some almonds and tuna fish from the shoppette.

Tonight is a party at a brewery. I'll have a couple ciders, forsaking the regular fast-digesting beer carbs. (The cider probably isn't much better carbs-wise, but at least I can avoid grains.)