This forum is created by people who follow the Wheat Belly Diet, as a place to communicate with each other about various topics. Please note that this site is a user created site, and not one of Dr. Davis' sites.

Author Topic: Is there a wheat free pasta?  (Read 11809 times)

Joan

• View Profile
Is there a wheat free pasta?
« on: April 18, 2013, 09:53:56 AM »
I'm just getting started on the wheat belly diet.  ( Still waiting for my book to arrive ).

What do you guys do about pasta?  I normally eat pasta about 2 or 3 times a week.   I looked at the ingredient list of all the pasta I have and it all has wheat in it.  :'(

Joan
« Last Edit: April 18, 2013, 02:04:13 PM by Rita »

Bing

• View Profile
Re: Is there a wheat free pasta?
« Reply #1 on: April 18, 2013, 11:40:04 AM »
Not the same but you might want to try spaghetti squash:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=roNFu9S8Cwo

Jan in Key West

• View Profile
« Reply #2 on: April 18, 2013, 04:32:10 PM »
Dr. Davis mentioned shirataki pasta made from the kudzu root.  Tried it this week and we both loved it, although the small package just enough for two people. It comes in a solution and you have to rinse it.....then boil for two minutes. If you can find the flour, it's also good as a thickening agent. I found capsules.

TFGal

• View Profile
« Reply #3 on: April 18, 2013, 05:24:07 PM »
I agree on the shirataki noodles, although the versions sold around here also contain soy, which I try not to eat too much of. Once you'd adorned them with sauce, you really can't tell the difference except they're not as chewy as al dente pasta. I like to use a quick Alfredo sauce, I just mix some melted butter, heavy cream, and all the grated Parmesan I can spare and throw in a little French thyme for good measure. Okay, now I'm hungry, guess I should go fix dinner.  ;)

Jean

• View Profile
« Reply #4 on: April 18, 2013, 05:50:05 PM »
Thinly sliced zucchini makes great noodles! Just drain them well.

lwbarbara

• View Profile