This forum is created by people who follow the Wheat Belly Diet, as a place to communicate with each other about various topics. Please note that this site is a user created site, and not one of Dr. Davis' sites.

Author Topic: questions regarding bread substitutes  (Read 4582 times)

sweetjanny

• View Profile
questions regarding bread substitutes
« on: December 16, 2014, 05:31:19 AM »
I am new to this and do not have the book yet and working full time and having a child I have little time to read or research until the weekend so I was asking what you use for crunch or bread type substitutes?  Are rice cakes made with 100% brown rice ok?  What else is out there that I can try?  Again, I have little time to bake also so making my own right now is not an option.  Any ideas would be greatly appreciated.

Rita

• Administrator
  • A student of nutrition
    • View Profile
Re: questions regarding bread substitutes
« Reply #1 on: December 16, 2014, 06:17:41 AM »
I know that Dr. Davis has some recipes for bread, but I personally haven't tried them.

Many of us have transitioned out of eating bread-like foods because all those foods still end up breaking down into sugar.

Barbara from New Jersey

• View Profile
« Reply #2 on: December 16, 2014, 06:45:24 AM »
SJ,

Crunch is a problem because it is not a natural phenomena occurring in the foods that we do eat.  The highly glycemic grains are avoided so your rice cakes or gluten free mixes/breads are not recommended.  No, we do not eat corn chips or any other crispy type foods.  The idea is to keep your carbs lower than 50 per day and keep you fats high.  There isn't any substitution for knowledge.

Jan in Key West

• View Profile
« Reply #3 on: December 16, 2014, 07:11:07 AM »